Beginning last Friday 7 August 2020 persons entering Massachusetts from Rhode Island must provide proof of a recent negative COVID-19 test or quarantine for 14 days.
Until now, RI had been on a list of 8 "low-risk" states that are exempt from quarantining/testing, but increases in RI's positive test rate and cases per 100,000 residents caused MA Gov. Charlie Baker to move the state to non-exempt status.
Violators are subject to fines up to $500 per day, but Gov. Baker has said that enforcement will be on an "honor system".
States remaining on MA's exempt list now are:
- Maine (which requires MA residents to quarantine or test)
- New Hampshire
- New York
- New Jersey
The MA restrictions don't apply to persons who have simply transited a non-exempt state, or who need to enter the state for work.